EuropeNewsAthens Photo Festival’s Portfolio Reviews

Athens (13 – 14 June, 2016) The Athens Photo Festival’s Portfolio Reviews offer an opportunity for emerging artists and photographers to meet and network with internationally acclaimed experts.

The Athens Photo Festival’s Portfolio Reviews offer an opportunity for emerging artists and photographers to meet and network with internationally acclaimed experts.

A total of 20 curators, editors, agency and festival directors and influential experts from different countries are brought together during the Athens Photo Festival to provide an opportunity for photographers and artists to receive advice on their work.

dss

This year’s portfolio review programme will take place on Monday and Tuesday 13-14 June 2016 at the Benaki Museum (Pireos St. Annexe) in Athens. Participants can register for either 4, 6 or 8 one-on-one reviews. Each review session lasts for 20 minutes. Places are limited, so early application is highly encouraged.

In addition to providing professional advice, the reviewers will award the “Best Portfolio” and the winner will have the chance to exhibit at the Athens Photo Festival 2017 edition.

2016 PORTFOLIO REVIEWERS

Adrian Evans, Director, Panos Pictures, UK
Christina Androulidaki, Curator/Director, CAN Gallery, Greece
Costis Antoniadis, Curator/Director, Ariadne Photo Gallery, Greece
Marina Fokidis, Head of Artistic Office Athens, Documenta 14
Angel Luis Gonzalez Fernandez, Director/Curator, PhotoIreland Festival, Ireland
Clément Saccomani, Director, NOOR, Netherlands
Kim Knoppers, Curator at FOAM (Photography Museum Amsterdam), Netherlands
Marion Hislen, Director/Curator of Festival Circulation(s), France
Manolis Moresopoulos, Director/Curator, Athens Photo Festival, Greece
Katharina Mouratidi, Artisitc Director, Society for Humanistic Photography (GfHF), Germany
Thomas Licek, Director, Eyes On – Month of Photography Vienna, Austria
Marie Sumalla, Photo Editor – International Section, Le Monde, France
Urs Stahel, Independent Curator, Founder and former Director of Fotomuseum Winterthur
Aliki Tsirgialou, Director, Photography Archive of the Benaki Museum, Greece
Bas Vroege, Director/Curator, Paradox, Netherlands
Erik Vroons, Editor-at-large, GUP Magazine, Netherlands
Frank Wagner, Independent Curator, Germany
Denys Zacharopoulos, Artistic Director of the Galleries, Museums and Collections of the Municipality of Athens, Greece

Portfolio Reviews

Registration Deadline: 1 June, 201

13 – 14 June, 2016

Benaki Museum

Athens

www.photofestival.gr

Magazine

CALL FOR ENTRIES

AN AMAZING PROMOTIONAL TOOL DESIGNED TO EXPOSE YOUR WORK WORLDWIDE

DEADLINE: TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 31, 2021

PHOTO: © JO LAUREN | UNITED KINGDOM | ISSUE 10
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/Z.jpg

Simply Stunning Landscapes – Would you like to capture stunning landscapes every time you shoot… without having to travel far from home?

https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/Landscape-and-Nature-dPS-Photography-Course-300x250-1.jpg

Landscape & nature photography is one of the most challenging genres and disciplines to learn, and the costs of getting it wrong can be disappointing

300x250

With ON1 Photo RAW you get the professional photo editing tools every photographer needs to get professional results while keeping your workflow.

https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/BAnImage.jpg

ImageRights provides intelligent image search and copyright enforcement services to photo agencies and professional photographers worldwide.

PRINTED EDITION
Interview with Roger Ballen, One of the most influential photographic artists of the 21st century

DnaInterview with Roger Ballen, One of the most influential photographic artists of the 21st century

Roger Ballen was born in New York in 1950 but for over 30 years he has lived and worked in South Africa. His work as a geologist took him out into the countryside and led him to take up his camera and explore the hidden world of small South African towns.
Interview with Samuel Feron; Published in our printed edition #16

DnaEuropeInterview with Samuel Feron; Published in our printed edition #16

Samuel Feron has been photographing Nature for 2 decades, exploring remote and sparsely habited areas all over the world. He tries to go beyond what the eyes first see, assuming that Nature has secrets in itself.
Interview with Marco Cheli; Published in our printed edition #16

DnaEuropeInterview with Marco Cheli; Published in our printed edition #16

I think that Dodho provides a fantastic opportunity for those who want to be recognized by an informed public and by their peers. Seeing my work in the pages of Dodho, well, it is the most exciting thing that has ever happened to me, and I have photography to thank for it.
Interview with Lys Arango; Published in our printed edition #16

DnaEuropeInterview with Lys Arango; Published in our printed edition #16

Time, dedication, and the right rhythm combined with a human approach make the work of Lys Arango one of the most truthful and inspiring photo testimonies of indigenous people.
Interview with France Leclerc; Published in our printed edition #16

AmericaDnaInterview with France Leclerc; Published in our printed edition #16

Canadian Travel photographer France Leclerc tries to find this commonness with joy showing sweet observation through fresh eyes to portray ethnic group communities the world seems to ignore.
Interview with Nikolina Petolas; Published in our printed edition #16

DnaEuropeInterview with Nikolina Petolas; Published in our printed edition #16

I work in several techniques, but what you are reffering to in ’Tale of the Blue Pear’ series  are mostly digital collages combined with digital painting. I also paint in traditional techniques but that is done on canvas or hard board.
Interview with Michele Punturieri; published in our print edition #15

DnaInterview with Michele Punturieri; published in our print edition #15

This work is somewhat impromptu because it has been carried out, so to speak, on the spot and at the moment. Street photography pure, trying to capture the most interesting moments and faces in the places I visited. 
Interview with Dimitri Weber; published in our print edition #15

DnaEuropeInterview with Dimitri Weber; published in our print edition #15

I like the colours on my pictures to pop a bit. To be as natural as possible, while catching the eyes of the people looking at my pictures. So, I enhance some of those colours during my editing process, mostly to give them a homogeneous look that suits my style.
TRENDING STORIES
My Albania by Claudio Rasano

EuropeFeaturedStoryMy Albania by Claudio Rasano

My series shows the fragility side of life in Albania . My portraits are frontal taken at eye level,looking directly and ahead, the face cast in shadow showing a strong and determined expression.
Walker Evans: The documentary poet

DodhersWalker Evans: The documentary poet

Walker Evans wrote with his photographs. A frustrated writer with years of studies in literature at the best colleges and universities, he poured his literary restlessness into his images
Portrait and fine Art photography by Patrizia Burra

EuropeShotPortrait and fine Art photography by Patrizia Burra

When photography and painting meet, dissolving into each other, Fine Art photography takes shape. And it is precisely this fascinating expression of the visual arts that Patrizia Burra
Time and slowness; Mountains Bleach by Sandro Livio Straube

EuropeStoryTime and slowness; Mountains Bleach by Sandro Livio Straube

It's about the idea of escaping from density and saturation in order to feel time and slowness again.“ “Berge bleichen” or “Mountains Bleach” takes place in the small valley "Val Lumnezia" in the Swiss Graubünden.
Traditional fire-walking ritual; Dancing on Fire by Demetrios Ioannou

EuropeStoryTraditional fire-walking ritual; Dancing on Fire by Demetrios Ioannou

On May 21 every year, in some villages in northern Greece, takes place a spectacular traditional fire-walking ritual, called Anastenaria.
Nude body; Model by Reinis Hofmanis

EuropeNudeNude body; Model by Reinis Hofmanis

Nudity has been interpreted in various ways - a nude body as a source of sin, an object of sexuality, or a component of cultural identity.
Gilles Altieri director of Galerie Du Canon

DnaEuropeGilles Altieri director of Galerie Du Canon

The Galerie du Canon, founded in 2017 by Jacques Mikaélian and Gilles Altieri, represents contemporary and confirmed artists and develops a policy of promotion and support for young creation.
People’s hands; Identity by Lisa-Jo Oliver

B&WEuropeShotPeople’s hands; Identity by Lisa-Jo Oliver

Using the Genre of Documentary, this body of work is about creating a variety of images which represent identification within today’s society by just focusing on a fraction of a person’s body, rather than the whole.
Life in a Dream World by Lotta van Droom

EuropeShotLife in a Dream World by Lotta van Droom

My ideas are actually constantly in my head. Throughout the day I have ideas which I am writing in a small book. Then I refine it and then I reject it. I walk through the streets and there I let myself inspire from everything extraordinary
FEATURED STORIES
Wildlife photography; Land of Giants by Will Burrard-Lucas

B&WBioEuropeFeaturedWildlife photography; Land of Giants by Will Burrard-Lucas

These photographs are part of a larger series documenting the elephants of Tsavo and the work of Tsavo Trust. The full series is published in a new book titled “Land of Giants”.
Under the sign of the rat; Roger the Rat by Roger Ballen

AmericaB&WConceptFeaturedUnder the sign of the rat; Roger the Rat by Roger Ballen

Surreal, refined, disturbing: Roger Ballen has made a name for himself with his special eye for what is usually considered minor or outside, yet is nevertheless profound and touching.
Intimate portraits of animals; Behind Glass by Anne Berry

B&WBioEuropeFeaturedIntimate portraits of animals; Behind Glass by Anne Berry

Behind Glass is a collection of photographs made in monkey houses of small zoos throughout Europe. Anne Berry is recognized for her ability to create lyrical, intimate portraits of animals.
Fictional narrative photography; Birth Undisturbed by Natalie Lennard

ConceptEuropeFeaturedFictional narrative photography; Birth Undisturbed by Natalie Lennard

Birth Undisturbed is a fictional narrative photography series by Natalie Lennard, that brings scenes of natural childbirth into cinematic fine-art tableaux.
Japanese Aquariums by George Nobechi

AsiaFeaturedStoryJapanese Aquariums by George Nobechi

Japanese Aquariums is a journey into some of my oldest, most treasured childhood memories. Whenever I visited my grandparents in the small, northern Japanese city of Otaru, my grandfather, a high school teacher and an enormous influence in my life, would take me to the aquarium.
Greenland; Stories from the Sea by Camille Michel

EuropeFeaturedStoryGreenland; Stories from the Sea by Camille Michel

Greenland became politically independent from Denmark in 1979 and is slowly getting on the path to economic independency. The ‘ice country’ is currently facing the consequences of climate change.
Intimate diary; Jazz Notes by Giuseppe Cardoni

B&WEuropeFeaturedShotIntimate diary; Jazz Notes by Giuseppe Cardoni

It is a declaration of love by Giuseppe Cardoni, but also by an Italian region, Umbria, which has always hosted the most important jazz festivals and where the author took most of his photographs.
Guatemala; Until the corn Grows Back by Lys Arango

EuropeFeaturedStoryGuatemala; Until the corn Grows Back by Lys Arango

Until the corn Grows Back; Lys Arango’s project was selected and published in our print edition 16. Criminal violence in Central America was something that happened very far away and that explained, according to the media, the gigantic caravans of migrants that from 2017 began to travel thousands of kilometres to reach the United States
Greatest jockeys; Fortza Paris by Marco Cheli

EuropeFeaturedStoryGreatest jockeys; Fortza Paris by Marco Cheli

Fortza Paris; Marco Cheli’s project was selected and published in our print edition 16. Over the years, until today there are many young Sardinians, specifically from Barbagia, who leave their island with the dream of becoming a jockey of the Palio di Siena.
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/getty-images.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/black-eye.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Edelman-Gallery.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Medium.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Opiom.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Filter-Photo.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/head-on.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Photo-independent.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/lagos-photo.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/gtb.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/IPA.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/in-focus.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/image-rights.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/riga.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/BGD.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/ICP.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Mifa.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/miami.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/viewbug.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/OFF.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/KLPA.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/rotterdam.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Photo-Nola.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/clampart.png
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/dripbook.png
OTHER STORIES
X
stay in touch
Join our mailing list and we'll keep you up to date with all the latest stories, opportunities, calls and more.
We use Sendinblue as our marketing platform. By Clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provided will be transferred to Sendinblue for processing in accordance with their terms of use
We’d love to
Thank you for subscribing!
Submission
Dodho Magazine accepts submissions from emerging and professional photographers from around the world.
Their projects can be published among the best photographers and be viewed by the best professionals in the industry and thousands of photography enthusiasts. Dodho magazine reserves the right to accept or reject any submitted project. Due to the large number of presentations received daily and the need to treat them with the greatest respect and the time necessary for a correct interpretation our average response time is around 5/10 business days in the case of being accepted.
- Between 10/30 images of your best images, in case your project contains a greater number of images which are part of the same indivisible body of work will also be accepted. You must send the images in jpg format to 1200px and 72dpi and quality 9. (No borders or watermarks)
- A short biography along with your photograph. (It must be written in the third person)
- Title and full text of the project with a minimum length of 300 words. (Texts with lesser number of words will not be accepted)
This is the information you need to start preparing your project for its presentation
To send it, you must compress the folder in .ZIP format and use our Wetransfer channel specially dedicated to the reception of works. Links or projects in PDF format will not be accepted. All presentations are carefully reviewed based on their content and final quality of the project or portfolio. If your work is selected for publication in the online version, it will be communicated to you via email and subsequently it will be published.
Issue #14 | September 2020
Current Issue
Vicky Martin
Ryotaro Horiuchi
Susanne Mildeelberg
Diego Bardone
Nicky Hamilton
Alain Schroeder
Printed on 80# matte paper 22x28cm | 100 Pages
Showroom
September 7 to October 31, 2020
Julia Fullerton-Batten
LOOKING OUT FROM WITHIN
Get in touch
How can we help? Got an idea or something you'd like share? Please use the form, or contact hello@dodho.com
Thank You. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Dodho Magazine is pleased to announce the new call for the photographers selection from all over the world that will be presented in an exceptional edition.
Deadline: Monday, November 30, 2020
Photo by ©Ryotaro Horiuchi | Japan | Issue#14
Dodho Magazine is pleased to announce the new call for the photographers selection from all over the world that will be presented in an exceptional edition.
Deadline: Monday, November 30, 2020
Photo by ©Ryotaro Horiuchi | Japan | Issue#14
CALL
FOR ENTRIES
Dodho Magazine is pleased to announce the new call for the photographers selection from all over the world that will be presented in an exceptional edition.
Are you ready?
Deadline: Monday, November 30, 2020
Contact
How can we help? Got an idea or something you'd like share? Please use the adjacent form, or contact contact@dodho.com
Thank You. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Submission
Dodho Magazine accepts submissions from emerging and professional photographers from around the world.
Their projects can be published among the best photographers and be viewed by the best professionals in the industry and thousands of photography enthusiasts. Dodho magazine reserves the right to accept or reject any submitted project. Due to the large number of presentations received daily and the need to treat them with the greatest respect and the time necessary for a correct interpretation our average response time is around 5/10 business days in the case of being accepted. This is the information you need to start preparing your project for its presentation.
To send it, you must compress the folder in .ZIP format and use our Wetransfer channel specially dedicated to the reception of works. Links or projects in PDF format will not be accepted. All presentations are carefully reviewed based on their content and final quality of the project or portfolio. If your work is selected for publication in the online version, it will be communicated to you via email and subsequently it will be published.
NEW!
FOLLOW US.
Subscribe now and get a free access to a curated list of resources.
Feel free to contact.
2017 (C) All rights reserved.
ghfd