EuropeNewsAthens Photo Festival’s Portfolio Reviews

Athens (13 – 14 June, 2016) The Athens Photo Festival’s Portfolio Reviews offer an opportunity for emerging artists and photographers to meet and network with internationally acclaimed experts.

The Athens Photo Festival’s Portfolio Reviews offer an opportunity for emerging artists and photographers to meet and network with internationally acclaimed experts.

A total of 20 curators, editors, agency and festival directors and influential experts from different countries are brought together during the Athens Photo Festival to provide an opportunity for photographers and artists to receive advice on their work.

dss

This year’s portfolio review programme will take place on Monday and Tuesday 13-14 June 2016 at the Benaki Museum (Pireos St. Annexe) in Athens. Participants can register for either 4, 6 or 8 one-on-one reviews. Each review session lasts for 20 minutes. Places are limited, so early application is highly encouraged.

In addition to providing professional advice, the reviewers will award the “Best Portfolio” and the winner will have the chance to exhibit at the Athens Photo Festival 2017 edition.

2016 PORTFOLIO REVIEWERS

Adrian Evans, Director, Panos Pictures, UK
Christina Androulidaki, Curator/Director, CAN Gallery, Greece
Costis Antoniadis, Curator/Director, Ariadne Photo Gallery, Greece
Marina Fokidis, Head of Artistic Office Athens, Documenta 14
Angel Luis Gonzalez Fernandez, Director/Curator, PhotoIreland Festival, Ireland
Clément Saccomani, Director, NOOR, Netherlands
Kim Knoppers, Curator at FOAM (Photography Museum Amsterdam), Netherlands
Marion Hislen, Director/Curator of Festival Circulation(s), France
Manolis Moresopoulos, Director/Curator, Athens Photo Festival, Greece
Katharina Mouratidi, Artisitc Director, Society for Humanistic Photography (GfHF), Germany
Thomas Licek, Director, Eyes On – Month of Photography Vienna, Austria
Marie Sumalla, Photo Editor – International Section, Le Monde, France
Urs Stahel, Independent Curator, Founder and former Director of Fotomuseum Winterthur
Aliki Tsirgialou, Director, Photography Archive of the Benaki Museum, Greece
Bas Vroege, Director/Curator, Paradox, Netherlands
Erik Vroons, Editor-at-large, GUP Magazine, Netherlands
Frank Wagner, Independent Curator, Germany
Denys Zacharopoulos, Artistic Director of the Galleries, Museums and Collections of the Municipality of Athens, Greece

Portfolio Reviews

Registration Deadline: 1 June, 201

13 – 14 June, 2016

Benaki Museum

Athens

www.photofestival.gr

https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/BAnImage.jpg

ImageRights provides intelligent image search and copyright enforcement services to photo agencies and professional photographers worldwide.

https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/view.jpg
Share your most best images in this photo contest in collaboration with ViewBug. A community that hosts over 40 photo contests and challenges.
300x250

With ON1 Photo RAW you get the professional photo editing tools every photographer needs to get professional results while keeping your workflow.

https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/Z.jpg

Simply Stunning Landscapes – Would you like to capture stunning landscapes every time you shoot… without having to travel far from home?

RELATED STORIES
Borders by Orhan Talibov

ConceptBorders by Orhan Talibov

As an artist when shooting body parts, I see infinite beauty. In fact, for me, the human body is the greatest piece of art created. There are endless possibilities: a hand can be captured in any number of ways
Francisco Arteaga, Street photographer

B&WCityEuropeFeaturedFrancisco Arteaga, Street photographer

Streets are the places where all kind of souls surrounds us. Strangers become part of you once you’ve clicked, they let you know them, get into them and see what lies behind them. I look for body language, facial characteristics, particular expressions, trying to search the story that defines them.
Silent Moments – a collection of visual poems by Håkan Strand

B&WBioEuropeSilent Moments – a collection of visual poems by Håkan Strand

Håkan Strand’s calming approach is reflected through his use of traditional black and white analogue photography, which pays tribute to the tradition of the great masters. This is his own way of battling the fast pace and excesses of modern life.
Chatting with Andrzej Maciejewski

AmericaDnaChatting with Andrzej Maciejewski

I was born and raised in Poland. I also went to photography schools there and in Czech Republic. I moved to Canada when I was 26 and have lived here ever since. While I lived in Toronto I worked for about 10 years as a commercial photographer specializing in architecture.
https://www.dodho.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/insta.jpg
The Beauty at the river Bank Padma by Mohammad Rahman

AsiaBioThe Beauty at the river Bank Padma by Mohammad Rahman

The riverscape of Bangladesh tells the story about the natural beauty of Bangladesh. The mood, artistic appeal, loneliness, solitude, and tranquillity of our riverscape
Dragons and Horses by Liam Lynch

B&WBioOceaniaDragons and Horses by Liam Lynch

Imagine setting up a studio under the surface of the sea. To capture this body of work Lynch composed each image under water then with the help of an assistant diver holding a backdrop and specialised underwater lighting
RANDOM STORIES
The Great Exodus by Mushfiqul Alam

AsiaB&WStoryThe Great Exodus by Mushfiqul Alam

Rohingya people, one of the persecuted minorities in the world, recently become victim of ethnic cleansing mayhem led by Myanmar’s armed forces from last several decades.
White Gold by Simone Tramonte

EuropeStoryWhite Gold by Simone Tramonte

In the heart of the largest Mediterranean island, the Sicily, volcanic land, rich in minerals, there are some of the biggest salt mines in Europe.
MiRelLA by Fausto Podavini

B&WEuropeFeaturedStoryMiRelLA by Fausto Podavini

MiRelLa is the story of a woman, a mother, a wife, a grandmother. Mirella is 71 years old, she spent 43 years of her life with the only person loved. 43 years of sharing, difficulties, laughs and beautiful moments
Volcanic eruption; Ashes for Life by Fernanda Lenz

AmericaStoryVolcanic eruption; Ashes for Life by Fernanda Lenz

My mission with my work is to create awareness for the importance of a concerned observation of the world around us. The ultimate observation brings other levels of understanding the world we live in.
Children of Pakistan; My First School by Andrea Francolini

EuropeOceaniaStoryChildren of Pakistan; My First School by Andrea Francolini

“My First School” is dedicated to the children of Pakistan and their common desire for proper schooling
Everyday life; The street by Petros Kotzabasis

B&WCityEuropeEveryday life; The street by Petros Kotzabasis

My field of reference is “the street”; I neither seek extraordinary events, nor do I travel around in quest of a subject to photograph. I have been photographing the “riches” of everyday life on a daily basis.
Photography and Identity; Walk by Abdo Shanan

AfricaB&WCityPhotography and Identity; Walk by Abdo Shanan

Abdo Shanan, born in 1982 in Oran-Algeria to Sudanese father and Algerian mother, studied telecom engineering in University of Sirt-Libya. After graduation in 2006 my life has taken an unexpected turn to photography, ever since photography became my Identity.
Chatting with James Singlador : 5th place General category – HIPA 2015

AsiaDnaChatting with James Singlador : 5th place General category – HIPA 2015

Basically, I am a happy person. I always look at the brighter side of things and maintain my positive outlook in life. I am a free-spirited person, an advocate of environment and nature conservation.
Gomira by Sandipa Malakar

AsiaStoryGomira by Sandipa Malakar

Gomira” the name has been derived from the colloquial form of the word “Gram-Chandi” or the female deity who is the protective force of the village. The exact origin of the dance form is not traceable as it’s lost in the realms of time.
FEATURED STORIES
Haenyeo; Grandma divers by Alain Schroeder

B&WEuropeFeaturedShotHaenyeo; Grandma divers by Alain Schroeder

South Korea, Jeju island, known for its characteristic basalt volcanic rock, sits off South Korea. It is the home of the renowned Haenyeo or women of the sea who free dive off the black shores of Jeju harvesting delicacies from the sea.
China; The great wall by Chiara Felmini

EuropeFeaturedStoryChina; The great wall by Chiara Felmini

China is almost a continent and as such can offer extremes and opposites at the same time; the ancient and very distant culture can still be observed in remote villages, increasingly surrounded by the advancing and swallowing civilization.
South Sudan; Smoker women by Ana Maria Robles

AmericaFeaturedShotSouth Sudan; Smoker women by Ana Maria Robles

These women smoke tobacco, an ancient custom that marks their ancestry, identity and tribal pride. Their attitude was strong. Fierce. They were active participants of every ceremony and the Leaders of the communities. 
Descendants of Samurai Ryotaro Horiuchi

AsiaFeaturedShotDescendants of Samurai Ryotaro Horiuchi

In the Soma region of Fukushima prefecture, there is a traditional Samurai festival called “Soma Nomaoi”, which is said to have continued for more than 1000 years.
François Mitterrand by Diego Goldberg

AmericaB&WFeaturedStoryFrançois Mitterrand by Diego Goldberg

I lived in France from 1976 to 1980. While there I had been covering the Socialist Party and when François Mitterrand decided to be a candidate again for the presidential elections I wrote him a letter with a project to document his campaign from the inside, with total access to his private and political activities.
Golden Gate; The Bridge, Reconstructed by Michael Yuan

AmericaCityFeaturedGolden Gate; The Bridge, Reconstructed by Michael Yuan

I wanted to challenge the perceptions of the Golden Gate Bridge. In solid red-orange and spanning 1.7 miles long, the Golden Gate Bridge is an icon of San Francisco.
The Orthogenesis of Soul by Sandipan Mukherjee

AsiaB&WConceptFeaturedThe Orthogenesis of Soul by Sandipan Mukherjee

We are all aware about the theory of biologically evaluation for Jean Baptist Lamarck. The theory tells about the evaluation of human how the structure of APE has got transferred to the today’s human being.
Protest in Brooklyn; Blessed to breathe by Bill Livingston

AmericaB&WFeaturedStoryProtest in Brooklyn; Blessed to breathe by Bill Livingston

When George Floyd’s life was unnecessarily and brutally snuffed out by Minneapolis law enforcement on May 25, it was yet another final straw…and that straw was set ablaze around the globe.
Photographs; North Carolina State Fair by Avery Danziger

AmericaCityFeaturedPhotographs; North Carolina State Fair by Avery Danziger

I have been photographing the North Carolina State Fair since the early 70's. One of my oldest memories was the yearly outing of my family going to the State Fair in North Carolina, starting when I was 6 year old.... 
OTHER STORIES
X
stay in touch
Join our mailing list and we'll keep you up to date with all the latest stories, opportunities, calls and more.
We use Sendinblue as our marketing platform. By Clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provided will be transferred to Sendinblue for processing in accordance with their terms of use
We’d love to
Thank you for subscribing!
Submission
Dodho Magazine accepts submissions from emerging and professional photographers from around the world.
Their projects can be published among the best photographers and be viewed by the best professionals in the industry and thousands of photography enthusiasts. Dodho magazine reserves the right to accept or reject any submitted project. Due to the large number of presentations received daily and the need to treat them with the greatest respect and the time necessary for a correct interpretation our average response time is around 5/10 business days in the case of being accepted.
- Between 10/30 images of your best images, in case your project contains a greater number of images which are part of the same indivisible body of work will also be accepted. You must send the images in jpg format to 1200px and 72dpi and quality 9. (No borders or watermarks)
- A short biography along with your photograph. (It must be written in the third person)
- Title and full text of the project with a minimum length of 300 words. (Texts with lesser number of words will not be accepted)
This is the information you need to start preparing your project for its presentation
To send it, you must compress the folder in .ZIP format and use our Wetransfer channel specially dedicated to the reception of works. Links or projects in PDF format will not be accepted. All presentations are carefully reviewed based on their content and final quality of the project or portfolio. If your work is selected for publication in the online version, it will be communicated to you via email and subsequently it will be published.
Issue #14 | September 2020
Current Issue
Vicky Martin
Ryotaro Horiuchi
Susanne Mildeelberg
Diego Bardone
Nicky Hamilton
Alain Schroeder
Printed on 80# matte paper 22x28cm | 100 Pages
Showroom
September 7 to October 31, 2020
Julia Fullerton-Batten
LOOKING OUT FROM WITHIN
Get in touch
How can we help? Got an idea or something you'd like share? Please use the adjacent form, or contact contact@dodho.com
Thank You. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Dodho Magazine is pleased to announce the new call for the photographers selection from all over the world that will be presented in an exceptional edition.
Deadline: Monday, November 30, 2020
Photo by ©Ryotaro Horiuchi | Japan | Issue#14
Dodho Magazine is pleased to announce the new call for the photographers selection from all over the world that will be presented in an exceptional edition.
Deadline: Monday, November 30, 2020
Photo by ©Ryotaro Horiuchi | Japan | Issue#14
CALL
FOR ENTRIES
Dodho Magazine is pleased to announce the new call for the photographers selection from all over the world that will be presented in an exceptional edition.
Are you ready?
Deadline: Monday, November 30, 2020
Contact
How can we help? Got an idea or something you'd like share? Please use the adjacent form, or contact contact@dodho.com
Thank You. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Submission
Dodho Magazine accepts submissions from emerging and professional photographers from around the world.
Their projects can be published among the best photographers and be viewed by the best professionals in the industry and thousands of photography enthusiasts. Dodho magazine reserves the right to accept or reject any submitted project. Due to the large number of presentations received daily and the need to treat them with the greatest respect and the time necessary for a correct interpretation our average response time is around 5/10 business days in the case of being accepted. This is the information you need to start preparing your project for its presentation.
To send it, you must compress the folder in .ZIP format and use our Wetransfer channel specially dedicated to the reception of works. Links or projects in PDF format will not be accepted. All presentations are carefully reviewed based on their content and final quality of the project or portfolio. If your work is selected for publication in the online version, it will be communicated to you via email and subsequently it will be published.
NEW!
FOLLOW US.
Subscribe now and get a free access to a curated list of resources.
Feel free to contact.
2017 (C) All rights reserved.
ghfd
February 28, 2021
Don't forget the date